Research Guide Categories:
• Introduction
• American History:
   Civil War
   Revolutionary War
• Biography
• Countries
• Genealogy
• Illinois
• Native Americans
• Pond Life
• Science Projects
• States
• WWI, WWII & Holocaust
• Return to Introduction

Home page  HOME
Contact us!  ASK US
Print this page!  PRINT
wireless  WIFI PRINT

 

Illinois

stripe
Databases Organized alphabetically› Online Resources

Note: If you are using the following Electronic Resources outside the Library, you will be asked to enter your St. Charles library card number and PIN number.  Use the barcode on the back of your library card and the PIN used with your card.

• Grolier Online
Type Illinois in the Find it Fast box to search three sources, America the Beautiful, Lands and People and The New Book of Knowledge.

• Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Complete encyclopedia with related Internet links, best websites rated by EB editors, Britannica's Lives and the Merriam Webster Collegiate Dictionary.
Type Illinois in the Search the Encyclopedia box.

• Facts on File Curriculum Resource Center
Grades 6-12: Science projects and printable maps, flags, timelines and science diagrams.
Select States from the Main Menu and then select Illinois.

•  Rand McNally Classroom
Features maps, games, activities and geographic reference information.
Select U.S. States and Regions from the list on the left or the orange tab at the top of the screen and then Illinois.

•  World Book Encyclopaedia
Features include timelines, maps, and interactive indexes. Incluye Encicopedia Estudiantil Halazgos.
Type Illinois in the Search box.

• World Geography and Culture
Reproducible, full-color maps, flags, statistics, images, and information about a location's geography, government, history, society, and culture.
Select Illinois from the drop-down box near the top of the screen.

 

› websites

Note: When in the Library, access to the Youth Services selected Internet sites is available only to students who are registered with a signed Internet Use Permission Form on file.

• Constitution of the State of Illinoisext link

• State of Illinoisext link

• 50 States, Capitals & Flagsext link

• Geography Online Games from Sheppard’s Softwareext link

• United States Geographyext link

• US States: Facts, Map and State Capitalsext link

 

 Library Catalog Subject Headings

Search these headings to find books available for check out:

OR

Try your own search using the Super Search to search the library catalog and other electronic resources.

lib live

›  Youth Services Reference Collection

The following books are part of our Reference Collection and remain in the Library available for use when the Library is open.

General Encyclopedias at the Homework Center

  • Compton’s by Britannica
  • New Book of Knowledge
  • World Book Encyclopedia

Atlas Stand

  • J 911.73 NAT        Historical Atlas of the United States
  • J 912.73 HAR        The Young People’s Atlas of the United States

Illinois Resources       J REFERENCE

  • 016.977 EXP             Exploring the Great Lakes States Through Literature
  • 032.02 WOR             The World Almanac and Book of Facts
  • 352.1309773 ILL        Illinois Blue Book
  • 582.130973 LAN        State Flowers
  • 582.16 BRA               State Trees
  • 598.09773 DEV          Birds of Illinois
  • 598.2973 LAN            State Birds
  • 720.977311 AIA         AIA Guide to Chicago
  • 720.977311 CHI         Chicago’s Famous Buildings 
  • 912.73 FAC               Junior State Maps On File
  • 917.304 COM            Historic Landmarks of Black America
  • 917.73 BLA               Awesome Almanac Illinois
  • 917.73 BUI               Historic Illinois from the Air
  • 917.73 HAY              Streetwise Chicago
  • 917.73 ILL                Illinois Generations:  A Traveler’s Guide to African American Heritage
  • 917.7311 DAN           Chicago’s Museums
  • 917.73110443  DAV    Kidding Around Chicago
  • 920 COL                   Notable Illinois Women
  • 929.92 BRA               State Flags
  • 929.92 HAB               How Proudly They Wave
  • 929.92 SHE               State Names, Seals, Flags, and Symbols
  • 973 BER                   Great State Seals of the United States
  • 973 KAN                   Facts about the States
  • 973.03 JUN               Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States
  • 973.03 WOR             Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States
  • 973.7115 TUR           Underground Railroad in Illinois
  • 977.3 ILL                 Illinois History: A magazine for Young People (at the ASK ME Desk)
  • 977.3 KAY                Illinois from A to Z
  • 977.3 SAN                America the Beautiful Series- Illinois
  • 977.32 …                 St. Charles Reference Books

 

Let us helpQuestions?
 Let Youth Services help. Feel free to ask us for help online or by phone at 630-584-9390.
 
2/13 msp

logo©2012, One South 6th Ave, St Charles, IL 60174 • www.stcharleslibrary.org

 
Youth Services
Ask Us!630-584-9390
Ask Youth Services!

CHAT with a Librarian

Related Links

• Internet Links
• Online Resources
• Collections
•  Live Homework Help

Homework Help

Ask a Librarian Live

 illlinois
 
HAPLR - a Top Ten American Library Library Journal STAR Library

Home
| Catalog | My Account | Ask Us | Mobile Site
St. Charles Public Library, 1 South 6th Avenue, St. Charles, IL 60174 (map)
630-584-0076  •  630-584-9390 Youth Services
©2013 St. Charles Public Library
Family Circle