Research Guide Categories:
• Introduction
• American History:
   Civil War
   Revolutionary War
• Biography
• Countries
• Genealogy
• Illinois
• Native Americans
• Pond Life
• Science Projects
• States
• WWI, WWII & Holocaust
• Return to Introduction

Home page  HOME
Contact us!  ASK US
Print this page!  PRINT
Print this page!  WIFI PRINT

 

WWI, WWII & Holocaust

stripe
Databases Organized alphabetically› Online Resources

Note: If you are using the following Electronic Resources outside the Library, you will be asked to enter your St. Charles library card number and PIN number.  Use the barcode on the back of your library card and the PIN used with your card.

• Facts on File Curriculum Resource Center
Grades 6-12: Science projects and printable maps, flags, timelines and science diagrams.
Click on the Additional Facts on File Databases link at the top on the right and search:
American History Online: Select The Progressive Era and World War I: 1890–1920 or World War II and the Forties: 1939–1949 from the Topic Centers box.
OR
World History Online: Select 1900–1945: A Half-Century of Crisis and Achievement from the Topic Centers box.

• Encyclopedia Britannica For Kids
All the resources found in Encyclopedia Britannica, plus special online learning materials for students, in grades K-8. 

• Grolier Online

• World Book Encyclopedia
Features include timelines, maps, and interactive indexes. Incluye Encicopedia Estudiantil Halazgos.

 

› websites

Note: When in the Library, access to the Youth Services selected Internet sites is available only to students who are registered with a signed Internet Use Permission Form on file.

• EHistoryext link

• History for Kidsext link

• World War Iext link

• World War II in Europeext link

• World War II in the Pacificext link

• Anne Frank ext link

• Holocaust Encyclopediaext link

 

 Library Catalog Subject Headings

Search these headings to find books available for check out:

OR

Try your own search using the Super Search to search the library catalog and other electronic resources.

lib live

›  Youth Services Reference Collection

The following books are part of our Reference Collection and remain in the Library available for use when the Library is open.

General Encyclopedias at the Homework Center

  • Compton’s by Britannica
  • New Book of Knowledge
  • World Book Encyclopedia

General             J REFERENCE

  • J 911 FAC         Historical Maps on File.  Vol. 1.
  • J 973 HAK         A History of US

World War I             J REFERENCE

  • J 909.08 HIS      History of the Modern World.  Vol. 7.
  • J 940.3 PEN       World War I Almanac
  • J 940.3 PEN       World War I Biographies
  • J 940.3 PEN       World War I Primary Sources
  • J 940.3 SHE       Pictorial History of World War I
  • J 940.303 GRO   Grolier Library of World War I
  • J 973 CHA         The Military History of the United States.  Vol. 8.

World War II and The Holocaust     J REFERENCE

  • J 909.08 HIS      History of the Modern World.  Vol. 8.
  • J 940.53 WOR    World War II
  • J 940.53 WOR    World War II Almanac
  • J 940.53 WOR    World War II Biographies
  • J 940.53 WOR    World War II Primary Sources
  • J 940.5318 ALT  Holocaust
  • J 940.5318 FEL   Understanding the Holocaust
  • J 940.5318 HOL  The Holocaust
  • J 940.5318 PEO  People of the Holocaust
  • J 940.5318 VOI  Voices of the Holocaust
  • J 940.53180922 RES Rescue and Resistance: Portraits of the Holocaust
  • J 940.54 NEW     New Grolier Encyclopedia of World War II
  • J 973 AME         The American Scene.  Vol. 6 & 7.
  • J 973 CHA         The Military History of the United States.  Vol. 9 & 10.

 

Let us helpQuestions?
 Let Youth Services help. Feel free to ask us for help online or by phone at 630-584-9390.
 
7/10 msp

logo©2012, One South 6th Ave, St Charles, IL 60174 • www.stcharleslibrary.org

 
Youth Services
Ask Us!630-584-9390
Ask Youth Services!

CHAT with a Librarian

Related Links

• Internet Links
• Online Resources
• Collections
•  Live Homework Help

Homework Help

Ask a Librarian Live

 World War I
 
HAPLR - a Top Ten American Library Library Journal STAR Library

Home
| Catalog | My Account | Ask Us | Mobile Site
St. Charles Public Library, 1 South 6th Avenue, St. Charles, IL 60174
630-584-0076  •  630-584-9390 Youth Services
©2012 St. Charles Public Library
Family Circle